Topic

Snow Peak stove windscreen

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Snow Peak stove windscreen

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 53 total)
  • Author
    Gary Dunckel
    BPL Member

@zia-grill-guy

Locale: Boulder

This is my first attempt at reporting a MYOG item. Sorry for the crappy photos, but I think they'll work OK. This MYOG is reported to honor Roger Caffin, another SP stove lover. He'll absolutely cringe when he sees what I've done here.

Here's a photo of the setup, with a SP 600 pot in place.

SP Pot and Screen

First off, if there's no wind, there's no need for this stove screen. But as a breeze kicks up, any stove's efficiency drops off dramatically. With this screen setup, I've been able to protect the stove flame from the wind, while allowing sufficient flow of air to the burner. The key element is to protect the stove burner from underneath, in addition to the screen that surrounds the sides of the pot. The two screen components are shown below.

Screen components

Screen assembly mounted on stove:
    Screen assembly on stove

Top view. Note the minimal, but adequate ventilation from underneath. The bottom disk rests at the base of the burner head, 2" above the canister, held in place by the slots that engage the stove pot support arms.

Top view

The side screen is fastened together by means of a titanium rod that connects the ends of the screen together. Hopefully this photo shows that well enough. When disassembled, the screen and bottom piece slide nicely into the SP 600, leaving plenty of room for the stove and other small widgets.

Fastener

DANGER! UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCE WILL THE USER ALLOW THE CANISTER TO BECOME HOT TO THE TOUCH! (If you do, and live, Roger C. will thump you hard).