Topic

Bendy aluminum

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Bendy aluminum

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Diane “Piper” Soini
    BPL Member

@sbhikes

Locale: Santa Barbara

What is that bendy aluminum called? The kind where you can bend it this way and that and it doesn't just flex or snap but stays pretty much as you bend it. Where can someone obtain a sheet of this?

todd
    BPL Member

@funnymo

Locale: SE USA

Like MSR windscreens?

Buy disposable oven roating pans @ the Dollar Store or at supermarkets, and cut to size w/ scissors.

Elliott Wolin
    BPL Member

@ewolin

Locale: Hampton Roads, Virginia

One possibility (I'm not an expert on Al alloys, see the Wikipedia article):

Tempering hardens many Al alloys. The "T" suffix at the end tells you how much tempering was done, from T0 to T10 (plus variants), with T0 meaning "full soft, annealed. Look e.g. for 6061-T0 or some other alloy with -T0 at the end.

drowning in spam

@leaftye

Locale: SoCal

Foil? Thicker than kitchen grade of course.

John Nausieda
    BPL Member

@meander

Locale: PNW

I like this gauge of aluminum . It is heavier than a foil or a turkey pan , but not so thick as to be rigid or structural. It can be cut with a kitchen scissors. I thought about building my own windscreen , but as is sometimes the case , it is cheap enough that I didn't build one. Too light I think for a Caldera Cone Clone. But a good cheap windscreen. If I remember correctly , I learned of it from Roger Caffin, who in China would be called the Stove God.

Colin Krusor
    BPL Member

@ckrusor

Locale: Northwest US

I think you might be looking for "tooling foil". Google that. Aluminum tooling foil is very bright and shiny, very soft, and comes in many thicknesses but 36 gauge (about 0.005") and 38 gauge (about 0.004") are the most common.