Topic

Need help, Denver area day hikes may 1st

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Member Trip Reports Need help, Denver area day hikes may 1st

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    jeffrey bennett
    Spectator

@jollygreen

Locale: Near the bottom

Just found out I am going to denver in a month and I need some day hikes. My wife will be at a convention during the day so I get to hit some trails. I am only going to be there for 4 days and I have to be back at night to take the wife out. First time in Denver so I am a noob to the area. I am going to be staying near the airport.
    Thanks Jeff

Chris Gray
    Spectator

@chrisfol

Locale: Denver, Coloado

By airport, I am assuming DIA (Denver International)– do you happen to know the town?

I am just asking because the airport is a good 30-45 minutes from downtown Denver and then the Foothills are another 20 minutes or so depending on where you want to go. So if you really are right by the airport, you are going to have a good hour commute just to get to the foothills.

Another question is what is your ability and do you have snow gear (ice axe, crampons/microspikes etc)? Because even in May, most of the high country is still going to covered in snow and so I generally bring my basic snow gear with me at least through the end of June and into July.

Some good solid choices between Denver and the Eisenhower Tunnel (I-70 corridor):

-Beaver Brook Trail (9miles one way/elevation gain is perhaps 1,400ft)
    -Bergen Peak, Evergreen. 10miles RT, 2,700ft gain.
    -Squaw Mountain and Chief Mountain. These two are very short hikes, perhaps 5 miles and 1,000ft. But great views and very close to the city.