Topic

New to the UL community, would like some critique on my current gear

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists New to the UL community, would like some critique on my current gear

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Mike Malley

@heatx

Locale: Vail, Colorado

I'm fairly new to the Ultralight crowd but I've made some new purchases and would like to know what you guys think. What can I do to improve my current setup?

Thanks!

Here's the GearGrams link:

http://www.geargrams.com/list?id=2933

Joe Clement
    BPL Member

@skinewmexico

Locale: Southwest

No first aid? No hygiene? Clothes? It's probably easier for people to look at if you take the consumables (food, water) off the list.

Jeffs Eleven
    BPL Member

@woodenwizard

Locale: NePo

yeah missin some stuff

Hyperflow = drops/ pills
    2L res = platy
    raincover = compactor bag
    packtowel = bandanna
    Ipood = tent stake

should save around 20oz or so only spend around $30

-do you need a 15deg bag?
    – looks like your fuel weight is off

Ken Helwig
    BPL Member

@kennyhel77

Locale: Scotts Valley CA via San Jose, CA

Tent, sleeping bag and backpack have all much lighter options. What is the capacity of your pack right now? What kind of temps will you be camping in? A tarptent or a tarp with a bug net could save you some pounds too.

Mike Malley

@heatx

Thanks for the replies so far, I went ahead and changed the link to a GearGrams list. Makes it easier to read and update. I took the food/water/fuel off the list and added some stuff.

http://www.geargrams.com/list?id=2933

EDIT:
    Also, the 15 degree bag is the only bag I have right now. Pack is 44 liters.
    I'll be out in the spring/summer in Colorado so warm during the day and colder at night.