Topic

Newb to MYOG – Want to build a quilt!

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Newb to MYOG – Want to build a quilt!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    JT Croteau

@jt_w6fo

So I am a complete newbie to MYOG but would like to attempt to build a quilt for use on the AT here in Georgia. We’ve been getting frost here already so I’d like to design it for 30 degree comfort.

I don’t have a whole lot of math or sewing skills, will I have a difficult time learning how to do all of this?

I want to MMOG for a couple reasons; save money I don’t have, tailor fit it for my use, and an added sense of accomplishment.

Would appreciate any tips.

Thanks

– JT

E. A.

@yalacasa

Locale: Cheeseland-Midwest

Look for “12 oz summer quilt”… below

David Wills

@willspower3

I would recommend a Ray Way quilt, but they close their order form in about 20 minutes for three weeks. There are many resources to find insructions for quilt dimensions and shapes. 5 yds of 1.1oz nylon will do you well, as will 5 yds of 3 oz primaloft. therainshed.com has p-loft cheapest on the net, although everything else is expensive there. Go to walmart and get some $1/ yd material to practice patterns. For a new quilt user, I would have a 80″ long, 53″ at the head, tapering to 47″ at the foot pattern, if 6′ tall and 180 lbs. Find offset quilting explanations for the primaloft construction.

JT Croteau

@jt_w6fo

Thanks David

I’m 6’2″ tall and 280 so I’m going to need a big quilt. *grin*

I was thinking of the following for materials:

Outer: 1.1 oz Nylon Ripstop with DWR
    Inner: Momentum90 0.9 oz Downproof Ultralite Taffeta
    Insultation: CliamShield XP

The sewing seems simple enough but I’m not certain on how to make the foot pocket.

– JT

Christopher Plesko

@pivvay

Locale: Rocky Mountains