Topic

Guyline as emergency rope?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Guyline as emergency rope?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    JT Kelty

@wanderingwolf

I’m a newbie both here and with backpacking, so I apologize in advance if this question has been asked before.

I’ve gone out several times with friends, and we tend to enjoy going up the rocky trails. Well, as you can imagine, there’ve been times when one of us has slipped, and we used the AirCore Pro Dyneema guyline (which has a break strength of 560lbs) as a makeshift rope to pull whoever up. It worked OK, and I started thinking that I should include a 50′ length in my pack as an “emergency” rope.

Anyone have any opinions about whether this is a good idea or whether I should spring for a real climbing rope just in case someone gets stuck again? They’re much more expensive and heavier than the AirCore, however, and we’re not really into mountain climbing, so I’m not really sure it’s worth it.

If you have time, let me know what you think.

Thanks!

J R

@ravenul

If your going to make this a habit, you really should consider picking up a rope more suited to the purpose.

I wouldnt recommend this for someone else, but what *I* do if I think I *might* encounter trail requiring tying into others, is to carry a 35′ length of genuine 7-strand military parachute cord.

It doesnt weigh much, and its extremely strong.

JT Kelty

@wanderingwolf

Thanks, JR! I appreciate the response and the info!

Roger Caffin
    BPL Member

@rcaffin

Locale: Wollemi & Kosciusko NPs, Europe