Topic

Sierra High Route Gear List

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Sierra High Route Gear List

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Andrew F

@andrew-f

Locale: San Francisco Bay Area

Hello everyone,

I am planning on hiking the Sierra High Route this summer from August 15-September 10. It looks like it will take me about 22 days on-trail, with resupplies in Bishop, VVR and Tuolumne. I will be hiking solo. I've never been on a trip longer than a week, but I have lots of mountaineering experience in the Sierras so I think the technical portions of the route should be in my comfort zone.

I expect that the majority of the days will be in the 60s-70s with lows around 30F most nights, though I will often be sleeping around 10,000' and I expect a handful of nights it will get down to 20F. My main concern is that my Summerlite won't be warm enough. I can bring an REI Sub Kilo instead, with 4 more ounces of down, but at a weight penalty of 10oz. Let me know what you think.

I am also considering swapping the NeoAir for a 72" Ridgerest Solite for durability issues. The weight is the same, but I am worried about the Ridgerest being bulky for scrambling and I don't find it very comfortable.

I will be carrying 7 days/10.5 lbs of food at the most for a total pack weight of about 26 lbs.

Gear List

Sorry, don't have the weights for my worn clothing, but here is a list:
    Patagonia Capilene 1 L/S tee
    Patagonia Capilene 2 boxers
    REI nylon sun hat
    Arcteryx Palisade pants
    Smartwool PhD running socks
    Scarpa Epic approach/trail running shoes

Andrew

Rick Dreher
    BPL Member

@halfturbo

Locale: Northernish California

Hi Andrew,