Topic

Upcoming Rocky Mtn NP mid-March Traverse: Seeking Advice

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Hiking Partners / Group Trips Upcoming Rocky Mtn NP mid-March Traverse: Seeking Advice

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Bill S
    Spectator

@pnchike

Could use some advice from people who know Rocky Mountain National Park well: Got some time off in about 10 days, and I’m trying to put together what would become an attempted mid-March solo traverse of RMNP. After a lot of reading and staring at some maps I have a few questions:

I have a lot of experience winter camping in harsh places (New England, Montana, Wyoming) and navigating off-trail, but only brushes here and there with significant amounts of avalanche-prone terrain on my own. The route I have my eye on, which seems as possible to minimize this danger and other environmental hazards, would be to start at the west side of the park at Grand Lake, follow (approximately, not always on trail…) the East Inlet Trail east to Boulder-Grand Pass, go up and over the Continental Divide there, and then continue on the lower-elevation routes in Wild Basin leading to the east side of the park at Allens Park or Meeker Park. How does this sound? What can people tell me about the conditions in that area this time of year? What do I need to know about it that might not be apparent from map or guidebook?

If I could pick an ideal route without regard to the terrain, I’d probably do something that goes more through the center of the park and ends at Estes Park, but I can’t find any route that’s feasible without having to navigate significant amounts of alpine terrain—any suggestions here about something I might be overlooking? Would it be possible to string together a route that goes from East Inlet—>Wild Basin, then cuts north and ends up at Estes Park?