Topic

Where to get NANO activated carbon?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Where to get NANO activated carbon?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Ike Mouser

@isaac-mouser

As seen in these videos:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Spw6PVQClUo

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yPENqD-V-TQ

Google did not turn up much. Is nano activated carbon the same thing as regular powdered carbon seen here:

http://www.buyactivatedcharcoal.com/activated_charcoal_powder

Or is it actually some kind of nano tech?

Steven Paris
    BPL Member

@saparisor

Locale: Pacific Northwest

Ike,

I think the nano refers to the "pore" size in the charcoal/carbon pieces, but I'm no expert.

Although probably much cheaper in bulk, you can also buy AC at pet stores, used in fish tank filtration. I bought a 5 oz container for $5.99.

Sam Farrington
    BPL Member

@scfhome

Locale: Chocorua NH, USA

There was a good show on PBS about the nanotubes, including a demo pulling a string of them from a container for over 12 feet.
    But "nano-activated" – my eye.

Andrew Schriner

@lettheguydance

Locale: Midwest

Activated charcoal is useful in water treatment because of its incredibly high surface area to volume ratio – it has lots of "active" sites for things in the water to get stuck to. "Nano" here just sounds like marketing nonsense – maybe the pores running through granules of AC are on the order of nanometers in diameter, so let's call it "NANO!!". But whether they are or aren't, the principal is the same – high surface area for high adsorption, and I doubt there's anything special about "NANO!!" here. Just a buzzword right now. I would say just get whatever AC you can get for cheap.

Nanotubes and "nano" activated carbon are not really related except that they refer to being "small".

Jerry Adams
    BPL Member