Topic

my new silnylon tent project….

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear my new silnylon tent project….

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Jason Webb
    BPL Member

@nikeman240

First off, how do I upload a sketchup document so you all can pull it up and view it? I will post it in the next post as soon as I figure it out so this will all make sense..

Ok, I'm getting ready to undertake my first serious tent making project. I have it all drawn up in sketchup, but I would love to get some input on what you guys all think and get some suggestiong that you think might improve the concept. It is drawn in skethup to exact scale of where I want it to be and will allow me to use the 65" width of the silnylon I'm utilizing. I am not experienced enough with sketchup to be able to illustate zippers and such, so here is a basic explanation while you are looking at it. I chose to have one side of the tent longer, thereby decreasing the angle that the wind would hit it, making it more stable, it also utilized increase head room in the area where you would naturally be sitting up in bed. The design shows one door fully closed, and the other door fully opened with trekking poles holding up the "awning." The awning side also illustrate the porch that would be sewed on one side and likely velcroed (?? best option) on the other, thereby closing the gap between the two awnings, allowing you to cook under it in rainy conditions. This awning closure would be rolled up behind the zipper when not in use. Also on this side is the L shaped zipper for the door. There are obviously two doors on this tent, but I just have the one side showing opened for illustration purposes. There would be elastic going out to the four tie out points to make the bathtub floor, similar to the lunar series (six moons designs). I have tr