Topic

3 season gear list, CO

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists 3 season gear list, CO

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    J Bailey
    Spectator

@jbaile38

Locale: Rocky Mountains

Hello All,

http://www.backpackinglight.com/backpackinglight/forums/gear_lists/0f4d3e1d6e585c5b71caa1d8c2ef7183.pdf

This is the gear list I've been using for the last three years, with a few tweaks.

My trips range from 2-7 days with this setup, 3 seasons, solo, mostly in Colorado high country, and largely on trail. I usually get out about 50 nights a year. On trips under 4 days I replace the Lite-Speed pack with a Go Lite VO 24 pack, with ~1200 ci capacity. Other additions are made for off trail travel.

In general, I'm looking for opinions on the list, I feel that the gear is easy to use, ensures I'm well prepared, is flexible enough for true 3 season use (temps above 15F), uses weight and pack space efficiently and that everything there is necessary. I would love to hear any counter-arguments to these points.

Specifically I'm wondering if anyone has any pack recommendations for this kit, the Go Lite packs were chosen for the following reasons:

* Shallow side pockets allow me to replace a water bottle with pack on, while I can't with taller side pockets (short arms).

* Semi-durable fabrics for off trail travel.

* Not too big, as my kit is pretty compact.

* Panel loading. This isn't necessary, but a plus.

* Internal frame on the larger pack results in a nicer carry even if it is unnecessary for the weight.