Topic

Front Bag For Frame Pack

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Front Bag For Frame Pack

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Daryl and Daryl
    BPL Member

@lyrad1

Locale: Pacific Northwest, USA, Earth

I've been using a front bag on my frame pack for 10+ years. Here is a link to 4 pictures of the bag I currently use:
    bag

The four corners of the front bag connect to the corresponding 4 corners of my frame pack. With straps and buckles it weighs less than 3 ounces. It is made of uncoated 1.9 ounce ripstop. The buckles are 5/8 adjustable quick release types. The webbing is 1/2" nylon (works more easily with buckles than 5/8"). Bag is a simple flat stuff sack with a drawstring closure and a capacity of about 500 cubic inches.

Proximal (against chest) photo shows buckles with a white 3×5 card under them for better visibility. There are additional buckles for hanging bear spray, monocular, etc.

Front bag can be used (empty or full) as an alternative to traditional shoulder straps or in addition to them. I typically use only the front bag (without shoulder straps) and last year my hiking partner decided to also do so.

I place snacks, water, monocular, hanky, bear spray, camera, caps, writing material, maps, etc. in the front bag. It is very handy to access this stuff without taking the backpack off.

Front bag does a great job of balancing the total load. It eliminates the forward straining common with backpacks.

It takes a little time to adjust to this type of system but, for me, it has been well worth it. When the front and back bags are in balance (about 4 to 1 ratio of back bag to front bag weight) I don't even need to fasten the webs going from the lower corners of the front bag to the lower corners of the frame.