Topic

Help with my first quilt

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Help with my first quilt

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Michael Davis

@mad777

Locale: South Florida

I bought nylon fabric from Thru-Hiker.com called Momentum at 0.0 oz/sy. It came today! It’s really nice looking, very thin fabric. But I have a dilemma.

The fabric is slick and shiny on one side and has a dull matte finish on the other. Being a complete newbie at MYOG, I don’t know which side would be best for next to skin.

I’m sure some of you experts out there like Bill (Mr. MYOG) Fornshell, have used this and can give me advice.

Benjamin Smith
    BPL Member

@bugbomb

Locale: South Texas

Hey Michael,

The Momentum90 is awesome. I just finished a down quilt with it, and the matte side is the “right” side. You’ll want it facing out on both the shell and the liner, with the shiny side facing the insulation sandwiched between.

Michael Davis

@mad777

Thanks Ben,

I was kind of leaning that way but I didn’t want to get out on the trail and someone say, “Nice quilt, but why did you sew the Momentum backwards?” Then I would have to make up something really fast. :-)

BTW since this is my first, I’m using the Climashield XP for insulation.

Thanks again!

Benjamin Smith
    BPL Member

@bugbomb

Locale: South Texas

Michael,

That is awesome! You’ve got to post on how the project turns out, and especially about the performance of the Climashield. That’s a future project – a couple of synthetic quilts.

Peter McDonough
    Spectator

@crazypete

Locale: Above the Divided Line

0.0 oz!?!?!?!?!?!?!?! WOWWWWWWWWWW!!!