Topic

Re-purposing old down. How can I tell what fill I have?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Re-purposing old down. How can I tell what fill I have?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Ken K

@thefatboy

Locale: St. Louis

I've got an old down jacket and a giant down comforter. Both have developed enough holes and tears that they're no longer functional, but I just can't bring myself to throw them out. I was thinking about maybe making a light weight quilt or a vest with this stuff. I'm not terribly handy with a sewing machine, but if I was so inclined, how could I tell what the fill weight of the down is? Or is it even worth recycling the down?

Thanks,
    FB

Tyler Hughes

@catsnack

Locale: Smoky Mountains

I am not a down expert, but I would get a kitchen or postal scale, stick a container on it and tare the scale to 0. Just add enough down to = 1oz. (if it is really high quality down, you may need up to a 5-gallon bucket, as 1oz of 800fp down can loft to take up almost 3.5 gallons. I would pre-mark on the inside of your container what level should be reached to indicate the different fillpowers. 3.5 gallons / ounce = 800fp, 2.8 gallons = 650fp, 2.6 gallons = 600fp, 2 gallons = 450fp, etc… I guess just determine if whatever quality down you have is what you want to use. If it is, then I want to see what you make with it!! I am sure it will be something important to you, and you would probably enjoy that item more than a similar store-bought item.

James Marco
    BPL Member

@jamesdmarco

Locale: Finger Lakes

Well, You could try the suggestion.