Topic

what kinds of threads?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear what kinds of threads?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Jason G
    BPL Member

@jasong

Locale: iceberg lake

so i am very new to myog and was just wondering what kind of thread everyone uses for sewing. i tried searching but all that came up was the forum 'thread'..

Vick Hines

@vickrhines

Locale: Central Texas

Yeah, the search facility here is really poor.

Thread: Gutterman's 100% polyester is top quality, silky, uniform, strong, and works in all sewing machines. You can get 750 yard spools from Outdoor Wilderness Fabrics (owfinc.com) for something like $3.90. Look under 'hardware'.

Your machine might be able to use nylon thread, but it is overkill for all but the most stressful applications. You can get good nylon 66 upholstery thread from any auto upholstery supplier or from owfinc. Be forewarned though; many a good project has been ruined by using excessively heavy thread.

Avoid cotton/polyester thread. The cotton rots and before that, it holds moisture that accelerates the deterioration of polyurethane coatings. It is also not nearly as strong as good polyester.

The only problem with polyester thread is that it does not stretch, but nylon fabric does. This is a problem only on long seams like on the ridgeline of a tarp. When the nylon stretches too far, it can pop the thread. The easy solution is to sew long seams with the shallowest zigzag setting on your machine. That gentle offset is enough to protect the thread. On seams shorter than 5 feet, don't worry about it.

Jerry Adams
    BPL Member

@retiredjerry

Locale: Oregon and Washington

I've used a lot of Guttermann successfully

Available in regular fabric stores