Topic

Trying to go Ultralight

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Trying to go Ultralight

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 50 total)
  • Author
    Brandt
    Spectator

@bassdude

Locale: Texas

Hey everyone. I am fairly new to the backpacking world. I love the idea of it and always have, I have just never gotten into it. So, one day I took the jump and haven't looked back. I started out with a great, thick, inflatable sleeping pad, a pretty nice two person tent, and a big internal suspension backpack. But now I realize, I want to take that minimalist approach and only take what I absolutely need. So after doing a bit of research, I have compiled a list of the necessities in my pack and I wanted to get some input on them.

But first, a little about my location and such: I am interested in solo camping. I usually camp with friends, but I like the ability to go out and do things on my own, so I want to be always equipped as a solo backpacker. I would probably be camping in Texas only, though I may change that if I have the funds/time. I don't really see my trips at this point extending longer than 4-5 nights. As for weather, Texas doesn't really ever get too cold, but it certainly does get hot in the summer.

So here is my gear list:
    Thermarest Z Lite 15 oz $40
    Kelty Cosmic 35 42 oz
    Granite Gear Compression Sack, Medium 5.1 oz
    GoLite Jam Pack (L) 32 oz $118
    Oware Flat Tarp 1.5 12.5 oz (with 50 foot of cord and stuff sack) $76
    Integral Designs BugaBivy 17 oz $80
    Lights 16 oz
    Platy Bottle(2L)/plusBottle(1L) 2.6oz $12 (plusBottle)
    Cooking Gear and Fuel 25.8 oz
    Paracord/Stakes 8 oz
    First Aid Kit 24 oz
    Total 200 oz (12.5 lbs)

-Cooking gear is: MSR Pocket Rocket, GSI Pinnacle Soloist Cook System and one MSR
    8 oz Isopro canister.