Topic

need to learn self-arrest

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Mountaineering & Alpinism need to learn self-arrest

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    william hutchinson

@okuncool

Locale: midwest (boo hoo)

here is my problem,
    i am planning a thru-hike of the pct in 07′ foro which i have a few years of hiking experience, but zero mountaineering experience. i would like to learn the self-arrest techniques before i go however i live in the midwest. (no mountains). so what should i do. the nearest mountains i live near are the appalacians and i am not sure i can afford to get out west before the trip. i was thinking of trying to meet somone around kennedey meadows on the trip to show me, but that seems risky. any suggestions? also any suggestions on ultralight ice axes would be appreciated. i was thinking of that all alluminum grivel.

Ken Helwig
    BPL Member

@kennyhel77

Locale: Scotts Valley CA via San Jose, CA

Most likely you should be able to find someone to help you learn. Self arrest is quite important to know when traveling in the snow. The Sierra’s have many passes (sounded like you aredoing the PCT). No question if you are doing the PCT, learn it from someone. After you do learn it practice and practice more. Try sliding downhill headfirst on your back, slide headfirst on your belly, and try every different body angle. It will make you more comfortable when the time comes for self arrest. Hope that helps.

william hutchinson

@okuncool

Locale: midwest (boo hoo)

any ideas on where i could do that. does it really need to be a mountain. how much snow needs to be on the ground.

Ken Helwig
    BPL Member

@kennyhel77

you need to slide downhill to simulate a fall. There is no other way.

larry savage
    Spectator

@pyeyo

Locale: pacific northwest