Topic

winter backpacking in Death Valley?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Hiking Partners / Group Trips winter backpacking in Death Valley?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    pardees parvin

@backpackingdude

I've noticed there aren't any detailed Death Valley trip reports on here, so I'm curious if anyone here has backpacked in the area and what their general thoughts were. I'm considering doing a trip down there in Late December or Early January. Specifically looking into the cottonwood canyon/marble canyon loop, but open to other ideas. Since I haven't been to DV, I wouldn't want to attempt anything longer than 30-40 miles just quite yet.

I'd spend an extra day or two after 3 or so days backpacking just to explore death valley.

This would be my first desert backpacking trip, though I have some experience backpacking in the sierra.

basically taking any advice, suggestions, and interested in hearing about your own trips into DV. I'll refine my questions as the thread progresses…

Hiking Malto
    BPL Member

@gg-man

I did the Cottonwood Canyon/Marble Canyon two years ago in March. It was supposed to be a two day but it is very easy miles and I ended up day hiking it. I was pleasantly surprised at the terrain, it was more varied than I expected. I would definitely give this a try.

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

In my opinion, the best time of the year to do this is around March 15. The first of the wildflowers are up then. Even in places like Cottonwood and Marble Canyons, there are nice flowers. Make sure that you stop off to photograph the petroglyphs during the middle of the day.

–B.G.–

pardees parvin

@backpackingdude

I might just take your advice on waiting until march- wouldn't mind that extra two hours of sunlight either.

Jack H.

@found

Locale: Sacramento, CA