Topic

Gear list needing guidance

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Gear list needing guidance

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Francis DeRoos
    BPL Member

@fderooscomcast-net

Locale: Mid Atlantic

I’ve been working on my “kit” for the past 2 years and largely by the great articles and posts here I have been able to reduce my base weight down from 38 lbs (yep, I packed my Lowe Contour 3 just like I did 20 years ago and weighed it) down to just under 14 lbs. The current list was developed for a 4 day backpacking trip I took with my wife and 2 kids this summer in Lake Tahoe but I’m ready to pair it down below 10 lbs for solo travel which I think is totally achievable with changes to my “big 4”

I’m planning on 3 weeks of backpacking this September in either the Sierras or the Absaroka-Beartooth Wilderness with the longest time between resupplies being 7 or 8 days and I will be travelling alone.
    I’d also like most of the kit to be usable in midatlantic/northeast in the spring and fall for weekend trips since this is where and when I backpack most often.

Regarding a pack choice, I was thinking about possibly getting 2 packs – one larger volume pack that I could use when I need to carry a bear canister as well as when travelling with the family (when I carry more of the food/kitchen/etc) and the second pack for when I’m travelling alone for a quick weekend out east. What would you choose?

Finally, most of my backpacking is centered around fishing so I typically carry a 10 oz fly fishing set up (rod, reel, line, flies, tools) as well.

Thanks
    Item – wt (oz)
    Clothing worn
    Hat – Oakley 4.88
    Shirt – RailRider Ecomesh 7.8
    underwear – Patagonia 2.75
    Pants – REI sahara convertables 12.5
    Socks – Teko minicrew 1.5
    Shoes – Solomon XT 30
    sunglasses 1

Clothing Carried