Topic

PCT Gear List 2011

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists PCT Gear List 2011

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 41 total)
  • Author
    Toby Maxwell
    Spectator

@eeooo4-2

Locale: Idaho

I am just beginning to compile my gear list in an effort to prepare for my 2011 thru hike. There are a lot of things I'm sure about and a lot I'm not so I thougth that Id ask about what I have planned so far so that I could move on to the next phase of planning.

EDIT: Gear list link now on bottom of page.

Sleeping System:
    Tarptent – Contrail – 24.5 Oz
    Sleeping Bag – Marmot Helium L – 32 Oz

Pad – Zlite – 14 Oz
    Groundcloth – Goss Gear Polycryo – 1.5 oz

Pack – Golite Jam – 31 Oz

Clothes:

Pants – Nylon – Not sure Yet
    Shorts – Lightweight Running Shorts
    Puffy – Montbell UL Parka – 9 oz
    Marmot Driclime Windshirt – 11oz
    Patagonia Cap 1 long sleeve – 3.7 oz
    OR Rocky Mountain Low Gaiters – 4.3 oz
    Rain Jacket – Patagonia Rain Shaddow – 11.5 oz
    Windstopper Gloves – not decided yet
    OR Balaclava – 2 oz

Kitchen:
    Stove – Vargo Triad – 1.5 oz
    Pot – Snowpeak 900 – 6 oz
    Titanium Spork – 0.3 oz

Other:
    Swiss army classic knife – 1oz
    Pack Cover – Sea to Summit -4 oz
    Petzl Tikka Headlamp – 4 oz
    Hiking Poles – not sure yet
    Compass – 1oz
    Extra light – photon – 0.2 oz
    Aquamira water treatment -3oz

Water/Fuel Bottles will be soda Bottles (Ive heard cactus spines can pop platypusses)

There will also be a first aid kit and some electronics. So far my base weight is 10.11 lbs.

I also havnt yet chosen shoes and socks.

thanks for the help!

-Toby

EDIT: gear list now changed and online at https://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=0AtB78jUCJhWrdE9pLVVpbEswYlF5TjMyTVBRQlJhM3c&hl=en&output=html

Andy F
    Spectator

@andyf

Locale: Midwest/Midatlantic