Topic

Rain anorak as wind shirt?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Rain anorak as wind shirt?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Brendan Lammers
    BPL Member

@mechb

Locale: Washington DC

Hello all. I'm new around here, but I signed up since I am planning on hiking the PCT with my girlfriend next summer (2011) after graduating college.

Anyways, I have a question regarding rain jackets and wind jackets, particularly in the context of the PCT. Are rain jackets fundamentally less wind-proof than a wind jacket in terms of the materials they are composed of? I have no experience with wind shirts or jackets, yet people rave about them.

I tend to use a 200 weight fleece and a rain jacket as a winter coat for "treks" across our frigid campus here at Michigan State, and I notice that the wind tends to cut through both layers a bit. Would a wind jacket fare any better?

I'm looking at carrying TNF Triumph Anorak to function as both a wind jacket and a rain jacket. I'm not a huge fan of TNF, but the sizing is perfect for tall lean guys (6' 160lb) with long torsos like me. And a TNF Venture Jacket got me through a month in the Wind Rivers, so it works for me. How would this jacket do me on the PCT? Is the additional weight and cost of a wind shirt worth it?

Sorry for the ramble-fest, thanks for your help.

josh wagner

@stainlesssteel

not in my experience. rain jackets are more wind proof than "wind shirts" that i have (i have the ion by marmot and the wisp by golite). they are paper thin and block a light wind. rain jackets i've used (marmot's precip and golite's virga) are thicker, heavier, and block more wind due to the thicker fabric).