Topic

Ultralight tripod

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Photography Ultralight tripod

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

I came accross this tripod http://www.pedcopods.com/products.htm. The Pedco UltraPod I weights 2oz and has a fully adjustable ball head. It is made out of fiberglass with aluminum threaded components. It also comes with a velctro strap to attach to trees. Seems pretty cool. Anyone try this or other tabletop tripods for backpacking? The other possiblity I was considering is the Vanguard VS41 Flexible MiniTripod, but it doesn’t have a ball head. It also weights 2oz.

Tim Cheek
    BPL Member

@hikerfan4sure

I have no experience with those tripods, but bought a similar tripod at REI. It worked fine except I set the camera on some fine sand for a self-timer shot and while I was posing the wind picked up and blew sand in the lens. The protective automatic lens cap wouldn’t open or shut fully for several more days, although it works fine now. I learned to set the camera on rock thereafter.

Jay Ham

@jham

Locale: Southwest

I have the Ultrapod (2 oz, bought at REI for $10). It works great for smaller point and shoot size/digital cameras, like my Sony P-100. The ball head works smoothly, but probably won’t support larger SLR cameras real well.

I use the Velcro strap for taking self portraits more often than setting it on the tripod. You can strap it to a horizontal tree branch or vertical trekking pole shoved into the ground, and the ball head will swivel enough in either configuration to compose the shot. Best mini tripod I have used for self portrait review article shots.

Jay Ham
    Backpacking Light

Justin Gunn

@biggunn-1