Topic

Tenkara above Tuolumne

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Fishing & Tenkara Tenkara above Tuolumne

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Simon Weiss
    BPL Member

@simongtr

Locale: Bay Area

I just got a 12' Tenkara rod, a handful of flies from my local store, and have practiced some casting. I'm new to fly-fishing and don't know the gestations or kinds of bugs that exist where I'm going.

Next weekend I'm heading up around Young Lakes, north of Tioga Road, in Yosemite. There are various small lakes and smaller streams up there.

1) have people had success in this area?
    2) an particular lakes/streams seem to demonstrate real success?
    3) what kinds of flies should I bring?
    4) any other advice to the novice?

thanks!

Andy Berner
    BPL Member

@berner9

Locale: Michigan

Ive always found that when I go some where out of town to stop at the local fly shop and just ask those basic questions.

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

There aren't any local fly shops in Tuolumne Meadows, or, in fact, inside Yosemite National Park. If you go east out of the park, you might possibly find a fly shop in Lee Vining, but at least you will find local knowledge there.

Yosemite National Park does not stock fish, and it is very difficult for fish to get naturally to those high lakes and streams. They are there, though.

Figure out the places where people camp, and then don't try to fish there.

–B.G.–

David W.
    BPL Member

@davidpcvsamoa

Locale: East Bay, CA

Here is an excellent site that may help you with choosing flies to bring for the Tuolumne Meadows Area Tuolumne