Topic

“Expert” List Needs Fresh Perspective

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists “Expert” List Needs Fresh Perspective

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 69 total)
  • Author
    Sam Haraldson
    BPL Member

@sharalds

Locale: Gallatin Range

I have been practicing UL backpacking techniques for about five years now and I feel very good about the following list. Does this mean it's perfect? No.

Below is the packing list I've used as my go-to-list this summer and it has worked smashingly. Regardless, I'd love to hear some fresh perspective on it.

This is a solo gear list designed for three-season camping in the Rocky Mountains of SW Montana (but transfers well to other locales). Temperatures will drop to around freezing at night and can be into the 90s during the day. Rain, snow, and wind are to be expected at any time during the trip. The length of trip this list is designed for is a weekend but this gear can easily be pushed into a thru-hike list with a slightly larger backpack.

haraldson_expert_list.png

Brian Barnes
    BPL Member

@brianjbarnes

Locale: Midwest

I also use a button up the front fishing shirt (mine weighs 8.5 oz Columbia PFG) for my torso. I consider not bringing it each trip (instead using a light merino or cap l/s shirt) but really like my old fishing shirt in for its ventilation options, sun protection, durability, quick drying…

Have you considered using a torso baselayer that is lighter than 10 ounces (e.g. cap 2 l/s is 5-6 ounces)?

Sam Haraldson
    BPL Member

@sharalds