Topic

Winter hiking FAQ?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Winter Hiking Winter hiking FAQ?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Matthew Marasco

@babymatty

Locale: Western/Central PA, Adirondacks

I am new to winter camping, and was wondering if anyone could direct me to a good FAQ or website that lays out the basics. I am a fairly seasoned three season camper, and I believe myself to be a fairly warm-blooded person.

One question I have is about my sleeping bag. I currently own two lightweight Lafuma down bags, a 30 deg and a 40 deg. Both are on the thin side for their ratings. If I brought both and used one inside the other, what could I expect to boost my comfort rating to?

Another question is about shelter. Would my Copper Spur 1 be adequate for light snow? I assume I would likely have to dig out a spot to pitch it on, so a shovel would probably be a necessity, right? What are some good ultralight shovels?

I would also have to gear up a bit in the clothing department. I don't currently own a puffy jacket. What pants are you guys wearing hiking in the winter? Would my snowboard shells suffice in the winter?

Most of my camping and hiking is done in western and central PA, in the Allegheny National Forest and the Allegheny Plateau.

Thanks guys and gals. Oh yea, I'm also new here. Great to see so many like-minded people in one place!

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

First of all, winter travel might take one of several forms. You might be on boots if the snow is very thin. You might be on showshoes if the snow is thick and the terrain is more difficult. You might be on cross country skis if the snow is thick and you have a trail.