Topic

Dog Quilt

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Dog Quilt

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    David Gever
    BPL Member

@dgever

Locale: Brooklyn

I am interested in having a dog sleep system made(I have no experience). My idea is a quilt that would have Velcro on 3 edges and would attach to a sleeping pad with Velcro on all 4 edges. Similar to the Jacks R Better Down to earth pad converter.

The Velcro would help keep drafts out, and keep the quilt on the dog. While still being able to tear away if the dog got up in the middle of the night.

Having Velcro on all 4 edges of the sleeping pad would allow you to attach the quilt with the head end however the dog is positioned. Also for summer use I imagined a bug net that could attach to the same sleeping pad and clip to the top of a tarp. I use a MLD DuoMid with a Solo InnerNet, so it would be nice to give her a bug free haven of her own.

Does anyone see any issues with this design, or know where I can get something like this made?

Dan @ Durston Gear
    BPL Member

@dandydan

Locale: Canadian Rockies

Your idea with the velcro sounds smart as long as your dog isn't too much of a mover during the night. If you used a square sleeping pad (thermarest seat??) then it would be easy to use your idea of having any side the potential opening, but maybe your dog is too big for that pad.

You may find it easier to use a slightly bigger quilt that doesn't velcro down but rather you just lay over top?

For bug protection, you could get a dog tent made like mine:
    http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/forums/thread_display.html?forum_thread_id=36262