Topic

Trail Runners Make-Over

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Trail Runners Make-Over

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Bill Fornshell
    BPL Member

@bfornshell

Locale: Southern Texas

Trail Runners Make-Over – 29 July 2006
    I am starting with a pair of The North Face Ultra 102’s. I am doing this to my old pair of TNF Ultra 102’s first and then I will modify my new pair. I have been wearing this model shoe for a couple of years. My foot likes this shoe so that is good enough for me.

Phase 1.
    Shoe Drying Test: 22 July 2006

This past Saturday (22 July 2006) I did a “Drying Test” on an my old pair of The North Face Ultra 102’s – Trail Runners. This is a retired pair of “The North Face Ultra 102’s” size 11, socks size are “L”. I will repeat this test on my current two pair of “The North Face Trail Runners” as time permits. The socks used for my test were two pair of WrightSock – Running – Double Layer. I changed into a dry pair between each timed test. The socks I took off were dried in the sun between each test. Outside temperatures (see Note 1).

I wear my retired trail runners to walk around my home each day, cut grass, shop etc. My current (for hiking) trail runners are a new pair of TNF Ultra 102’s and TNF Ultra 103 XCR’s.

I started by weighing the retired pair of 102’s dry.

Then I washed them in a normal wash cycle and weighed them again. I weighed them with and without the insoles. I also weighed the socks I was going to wear – dry.

I put the wet stuff on for a walk around outside for 5 minutes.

I took everything off and weighted it all again.

I then put on a dry pair of socks and took a 35 minute walk outside on the black top streets around where I live. When I returned I weighed everything again.