Topic

My impressions so far on going light

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion My impressions so far on going light

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Michael Baker

@mcpacker

Locale: Minnesota

This is my first year of lightweight backpacking and I want to share what I have learned so far.

My mental well being is much healthier on the trail. I no longer dread putting my pack on in the morning. I am much more aware of my surroundings and I enjoy every second I am out there. When I approach a big uphill section I don't even think about it and just keep walking.

Early this week I went up to the Superior Hiking Trail for two nights. On the first day I didn't encounter any other hikers. I started thinking I was not moving any faster than I did with traditional gear but I was having fun. The next morning when I was packing up a couple people went past my campsite with HUGE packs on. I was in no rush so I took off about 15 minutes after they passed. At the first uphill section of the day I caught them with no problem. I kept seeing berry bushes so I would stop for a bit and have a snack. I would usually catch the other group within a couple minutes but then I would see more berries and stop. I then realized I was moving pretty fast due to my light pack because when I was behind them I felt like a snail.

The one thing that amuses me is how my shadow looks when the sun is behind me. There is no pack!

I could never go back to the traditional gear. I feel a lot safer and have more confidence in my backpacking skills doing the lightweight thing. The best piece of gear I ever bought was my digital scale. This place is a very important resource for my education.

Light is right!

Nick Truax
    BPL Member

@nicktruax

Locale: SW Montana

That is great to hear!