Topic

Sleeping bag choices-Help me!

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Sleeping bag choices-Help me!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Ken Thompson
    BPL Member

@here

Locale: Right there

Alright my head hurts. Trying to decide on a new sleeping bag. I'm 6'3, 205lbs. ,broad shouldered, size 15 feet, warm sleeper. I've narrowed my choices down to the three following bags.
    WM Megalite
    Feathered Friends Kestral
    Montbell UL Spiral Down Hugger #3
    I currently have a WM hooded Aspen(now Alder) that I have had forever it seems. I love the roominess, especially in the foot area. But at 40 ounces and way too much bulk I need to add another bag to my quiver. I don't like the purple of the WM, minor annoyance I know. The FF bags sound good , but I have zero experience with them. Never even seen one till last week. The MB sounds good on paper and the price is not bad either. Though I will spend the money on whatever one will suit me best. I look at sleeping bags as a long term commitment. I am mostly a hammocker but still prefer a bag to a quilt for the times I do go to ground. I also like the ability to use the hood. Let's try to keep it down to these three bags because I can only be undecided on three things at a time. Thanks everyone.

David Chenault
    BPL Member

@davec

Locale: Queen City, MT

I've yet to see/hear anything that would make me choose anything other than a WM bag when looking for a down bag. I'm sure FF and Montbell are both excellent, but with something like a down bag that's a long term commitment, why mess around?

Ken Thompson
    BPL Member

@here

I had to ask. Any idea if WM would do a custom color? I guess I'll call and find out in the morning. Still would like to get some more input though. Thanks David.

Nick Gatel
    BPL Member

@ngatel