Topic

My First Bicycle Tour

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Bikepacking & Bicycle Touring My First Bicycle Tour

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • Author
    Sam Haraldson
    BPL Member

@sharalds

Locale: Gallatin Range

I picked up an 80s Schwinn Tempo summer before last to use as a road bike and also with the intent to mount racks and panniers to it for bicycle touring someday.

This past weekend I attended a music festival held at the end of a Forest Service road about twenty miles and 2,500 vertical feet from town and I thought it the perfect opportunity to finally rig up my bicycle and do some bicycle camping.

I'm new to this and am using mostly older, used gear (aside from the camping gear which is UL and state of the art). The bicycle, components, and panniers are not super light but I'm still new to this.

Casey Bowden
    BPL Member

@clbowden

Locale: Berkeley Hills

Sam,

My hands hurt just looking at your bare handlebars. Are you saving weight by not using handlebar tape?

Sam Haraldson
    BPL Member

@sharalds

Not to worry, there's tape on there but it's white/silver in color so looks like bare bars.

Ken Thompson
    BPL Member

@here

Locale: Right there

Looks like great weather and a fab campsite. Hope you had a great time. Was the music good too?

Sam Haraldson
    BPL Member

@sharalds

Weather was beautiful, the view from the campsite pleasant and the music was delightful.

Jason Elsworth
    Spectator

@jephoto

Locale: New Zealand

Great stuff. I did my one and only bike tour 26 years ago when I was 16. We toured Belgium and Holland, the two flattest countries in Europe. We came down the ferry ramp and then free-wheeled for two weeks :)) I used to love going round on my bike, it is so much more fun than being stuck in the car.

Miguel Arboleda
    BPL Member

@butuki