Topic

Total Noob Question about Backpacking — Setting up Camp

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Total Noob Question about Backpacking — Setting up Camp

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Mr. Jared

@pa_packer

Locale: SEPA

I've always thought with backpacking that you just picked a trail, took off, and set up camp when you felt like it. However, I looked up backpacking in Pennsylvania and it said there were only 4 places you could do it:

http://www.dcnr.state.pa.us/stateparks/recreation/backpack.aspx

And each of these places seem to have rules about where you can camp, they have toilets and fire rings, it sounds like regularly car camping but you hike to get to your spot.

Am I misunderstanding this whole backpacking thing? I've been daydreaming about setting up camp along a babbling creek, getting a fire going, and enjoying some solitude. Is this not possible in Pennsylvania?

By the way, great forum and site. Love the articles and the user posts here. Thanks in advance for any help you can give to this noob!

Daniel Fosse

@magillagorilla

Locale: Southwest Ohio

I have never hiked in Penn. I have hiked all around Mammouth Cave in KY and they have the same rules, designated sites, many of which have steel fire rings. It is still good hiking and the sites are very far apart. Other parks have a no camp within 300 feet of a trail, which means you can camp pretty much anywhere.

Depending on where you live, there are several big NPs you could drive to. If you want total isolation head to big NP.

Good luck.

James Patsalides
    BPL Member

@jamespatsalides-com

Locale: New England

Hi Mr. J & welcome to the site… A big part of the issue with campsites is trying to concentrate impact in heavily used land.