Topic

Advice Wanted on Adirondacks Backpacking Trip

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Member Trip Reports Advice Wanted on Adirondacks Backpacking Trip

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Ben R
    BPL Member

@snowfiend131

Locale: Colorado

Hi all,

I was hoping for trail suggestions for a backpacking trip in the Adirondacks in August. Going for 5 or 6 days at moderate hiking pace, so 50 or 60 miles would be ideal. I will only have one car, so a loop is needed unless there is a shuttle service available.

This is my first time to the area. Would like to check out some of the high peaks region, but am open to other suggestions. I'm interested in views, scenic areas, wildlife, nice campsites, and maybe occasional solitude if I can get it during peak season. Most of the trip will be weekdays, so hopefully I can avoid the crowds somewhat.

Thanks in advance.

Ben

Elliott Wolin
    BPL Member

@ewolin

Locale: Hampton Roads, Virginia

Not a route suggestion, but very important:

You will need an approved bear canister in most of the mountainous areas of the Adirondacks, and last I checked only the Garcia was on the approved list (this was over a year ago). You'll get a hefty fine if a ranger catches you in the backcountry without one. You can rent them in a number of places if you don't want to purchase one…I recall rental was something like $2 per day. I recall fitting maybe six days worth of food in one canister. They weigh around 2 3/4 pounds (ugh!) and are large, so bring an appropriately sized backpack.

Concerning routes: some are fairly rough, not used much, have some route finding problems (they disappear into a jungle), and some bushwhacking might be needed. The major routes are well marked but can be steep, wet, cold and muddy, even in Aug.

John Whynot

@jdw01776

Locale: Southeast Texas