Topic

Golite Lair

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Golite Lair

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    David Ure

@familyguy

Hello all,

I am new to ultralight backpacking, and have a question regarding the Golite Lair. It seems short. For someone who is using a ‘long’ bag or bivy, it appears that one’s head would likely be exposed, which is not great in rain. Am I missing something? Conversely, can anyone recommend a similar tarp in size, weight, and ease of use? Thanks to all in advance,

David

Ken Helwig
    BPL Member

@kennyhel77

Locale: Scotts Valley CA via San Jose, CA

Well David, first thing is that when you are in storm conditions, you will be setting your tarp lower to the ground (ie the front and back) to add more protection. I am 6’1 and use a long sleeping bag and a long bivy. I have used smaller tarps (namely Integral Designs Sil Tarp) and have only had spin drift from rain really affect me. If you are looking at a 12 ounce tarp and a bivy (which I am wondering how much that weighs) you might want to look at a Henry Shires Tarp Tent or a Six Moon Designs Luna Solo. If those are too heavy for you, then look at a Gossamer Gear Spinn Shelter which is fully enclosed and adds to your comfort zone with rain.

Ken Ross
    BPL Member

@kr

I used a Lair on a couple of trips and also found it short. I no longer use it for that reason. For (barely) adequate rain protection, you have to lower the peak close to the ground or close off the opening with something. If they’d just made it a little longer or added a front beak, it would have been a much better design.

If you like the GoLite line, take a look at the Hut. It’s similar to the Lair but adds a front vestibule. The Integral Designs Silshelter is likewise similar.

Other tarp options abound, including:
    Outdoor Research Helium Solo