Topic

Map software and GPS advice needed

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Map software and GPS advice needed

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Gerry Volpe

@gvolpe

Locale: Vermont

Please bare with me as I have no experience with this stuff and my questions may make no sense. I teach at a wilderness therapy school and have some extra money from FY10 to spend on materials.

I would like to get some map software and gps units. We do hiking and canoeing trips throughout the North East and occasionally down to North Carolina for canoeing. I would like to do a couple of things with these. Basic navigation would be one as well as being able to add things like campsites. The other thing I am interested in is being able to plot trails and such on our property on maps I can then print. Again I have zero experience so don't know if I am asking the right questions. It would be nice if the gps could be very easy to use but featured enough to do what I want. Lightweight would be nice but I am more concerned with ease of use, durability, and perhaps things like good detailed screens so as to engage students. Thank you in advance for your help.

Ike Mouser

@isaac-mouser

delorme pn-60 comes out soon, middle of june i believe.

thats what im getting for my first gps.

chris kersten

@xanadu

Locale: here

I've been using a pn-40 and I love it. It comes with tons of map software included. The small screen is the only drawback. Like he said above, check out the pn-60 when it comes out, but also the pn-40's should drop in price.

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley