Topic

Help me sew mosquito netting

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Help me sew mosquito netting

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Diane “Piper” Soini
    BPL Member

@sbhikes

Locale: Santa Barbara

I ordered some mosquito netting to try to make a bug tent for myself. I got mosquito netting, not noseeum netting. Should be okay since my problem is flies and mosquitoes more than noseeums.

I can't seem to figure out how to sew it. I am a beginner for one thing. But the stuff can't be pinned. Pins just have nothing to adhere to. I have a hard time sewing a straight line with the stuff and the stuff is stretchy.

I was thinking maybe to sew something more substantial to the edges. But what? Or is there some other trick to sewing this stuff? Any tips for me?

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

You can use some tape to hold two pieces together, and then just peel it off as it gets to the machine needle. I've used tape that was not too sticky, because I didn't want it to stick permanently.

–B.G.–

bj bretzke

@lilorphanbilly

Locale: Montana, MT (Stealth Mode)

I either use a backing paper that peels off after sewing or in cases where I need a little extra strength, nylon edge tape. Practice on scraps to get the hang of it. Good luck and take pictures.
    BJ

James D Buch
    BPL Member

@rocketman

Locale: Midwest

Take a look here for a bed canopy mosquito net project. Discusses the difficulty of sewing the netting.

http://www.travels.com/destinations/africa/making-mosquito-net-canopy/

Another
    http://www.denacrain.com/blog/?page_id=214

Some small hints here:
    http://www.mosquitocurtains.com/home/mosquito-netting.html
    (the hint is getting the tension "set properly".)

dcmsme.gov.in/publications/pmryprof/hosiery/ch16.pdf