Topic

Filling my Down Quilt

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Filling my Down Quilt

Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Kris Sherwood
    BPL Member

@tuskadero

Locale: Washington State

Ok, the sewing is almost to completion and I am going to fill my homemade down quilt tomorrow. Any last minute tips or advice for filling? Plan is to use my shop vac and do each baffle section and tape shut until all are filled to what I want.

Mark McLauchlin
    BPL Member

@markmclauchlin

Locale: Western Australia

My tip, do it in the bathroom, close the windows and doors, buy yourself a disposable face mask and go have fun!

Travis Leanna
    BPL Member

@t-l

Locale: Wisconsin

Admittedly I have no experience with sewing and filling a quilt, but….what is the purpose of a shop vac? How does that fit into the equation?

Roger Caffin
    BPL Member

@rcaffin

Locale: Wollemi & Kosciusko NPs, Europe

See our MYOG Quilt article for some ideas.

Cheers

Jarrod Handwerk

@pa_hiker

Locale: Orwigsburg PA

i never usd the shopvac to fill mine…please let us know how well it worked….

i always order mine from stormcrow he packs it anyway you like…so all you need to do is put the bag in the baffle
    and turn it inside out….very fast and clean

Kevin Beeden
    BPL Member

@captain_paranoia

Locale: UK

Another way of keeping the down from getting everywhere is to do the filling in a tent… Put the tent up in the house, take the hoover into the tent, take off your clothes*, and take everything into the tent.

Once you've done the stuffing, seal the item, and then hoover up the mess.

* so the down won't stick to your clothes…