Topic

3 day pack weighs..

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Nino Lorenzo

@neanyoe

Locale: Bay Area

my pack i just finished pacing with food but Without water is 32lbs. i know that is nothing close to BPL weights but its my first time and hey.. i didnt go UL.

So is 32lbs without water heavy? keep in mind, im 5'9, 140lbs.

joseph peterson

@sparky

Locale: Southern California

Yes I would say 32lbs is way too heavy for me. Get that weight to 20lbs or less and you will be a MUCH happier hiker.

The quickest easiest way to do that is to simply don't carry what you don't need.

32lbs is a good start though, and probably much better than my first kit.

David Lutz

@davidlutz

Nino – I know you're leaving soon, but post a quick list here and you'll get lots of good advice right back on how to cut the weight.

I bet you can lose quite a bit pretty easily, and not even miss it…..

Ken Thompson
    BPL Member

@here

Locale: Right there

How much of that 32 pounds is food?

Nino Lorenzo

@neanyoe

so no time to type out a gear list.

when i wake, ill run through my sacks and cutdown on the 'what if' 'just in case' stuff.

as far as food weight, i packed the heck out of my bear canister. david lutz rented me his contender 101. variety is good i hear..esp for my 1st trip.

idk how much of the 'little' stuff i take out will actually give me 10lbs but ill try my best. thanks for the quick replies guys.

Unknown abc

@edude

Hi!

If you post a list of what you plan on bringing, including food and water, and sort in categories (Clothing Worn while hiking, shelter, extra clothes, sleeping gear, consumables, etc.) you will get a ton of useful advice.

hope that helps!
    -Evan

Brad Rogers
    BPL Member

@mocs123

Locale: Southeast Tennessee