Topic

Trekking poles-who uses them?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Trekking poles-who uses them?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 32 total)
  • Author
    Ed Neudorf

@xxclaro

I have never used treking poles before,in fact I've never met anyone using them either. However, I know they are pretty popular so there must be a reason. Also,I see lots of people us them for tarp tent,which looks useful.
    I'm just not sure I need them.What is the benefit of them? Do you use one or two?
    I am not an ultralight backpacker, but I would like to pare down the weight of my packs as much as possible. Is it worth the extra weight/bulk to have these poles? I see some are rediculously expensive,but some are cheap enough I might give them a try if they are actually useful.

Mary D
    BPL Member

@hikinggranny

Locale: Gateway to Columbia River Gorge

I've used trekking poles for 6 years now and wonder how I ever got along without them. I even use them for exercise walking around home (nordic walking), where they turn walking into a whole-body exercise that works the core muscles as well as arms and legs. I find they considerably aid balance, especially over rough places, and they've saved me from some potentially serious falls. They also really aid my knees (one of which had serious surgery about 22 years ago), especially on the downhills. They are also very useful for fording streams. Before I went to the poles, I used a single walking stick to support my bum knee. Once I went to the two poles, I never looked back!

I've never had any comments (even from the neighborhood) about "where are your skis?" Most hikers I've met here in the Pacific NW and in the Rockies use them. Every year I see more and more trekking pole users.