Topic

Coating Ripstop Nylon

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Coating Ripstop Nylon

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Josh Platt
    BPL Member

@easternbox

Locale: Southeast

I have acquired some ripstop nylon from a family member. Total surprise that was free, so I decided I would try and make a simple tarp out of it. However, I am completely new to making my own gear. I have sewn before but have no idea what to use as the silicon coating for the tarp. So I am asking for suggestions on what to use.

Thanks and any help is appreciated.

Josh Platt
    BPL Member

@easternbox

Locale: Southeast

Thanks for the input. I will probably order some silnylon in the future, but since I got this ripstop for free, then I may as well make a few stuff sacks and try to coat some. Will probably lead to me becoming insanely frustrated but we will see how it goes.

thanks again!

David Franzen
    Spectator

@dfranzen

Locale: Germany

If it works out for you, please share your experiences here. I'd love to hear about it.

Don Miller

@ultipiguru

Locale: IOWA

I have watched Patrick of Kifaru show how to treat silnylon on the seams and this is also how guys treat regular ripstop from what my research shows. He takes silicone, puts it in a container, and adds mineral spirits. He stirs it up until it turns into a "slurry" as he refers to it. Just a real liquid like substance, but not real runny. He then paints it on with a paint brush. Do this while the fabric is taunt and let dry.

Don Miller

@ultipiguru

Locale: IOWA

YouTube video

Luke Houseman

@prblysolid