Topic

headlamp/lantern

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) headlamp/lantern

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    William Mitchell

@astronutski

I’m new to backpacking (actually taking our first trip this weekend) and was looking for input on lighting. What do you all use for lighting? Not so much for navigating at night, but for at the campsite. I am learning about the importance/significance of dual use items and wondered if there was a headlamp that could also double as a camp “lantern” as I’d hate to just carry a flashlight solely for at the camp.
    Thanks,
    Bill

paul johnson

@pj

Locale: LazyBoy in my Den - miss the forest

I just use a small headlamp, or a Photon Microlight that i clip to either my cap/hat brim or to my eyeglasses. You can get creative and hang most small headlamps inside of your tent, tarptent, or under your tarp to act as a lantern if you need one.

A headlamp puts light where you need it, i.e. precisely where you are looking. To my way of thinking this makes more sense than a lantern.

Having said that, if you feel that you want a lantern, try a LED lantern like the Brunton Glorb (about $30) or an Essential Gear identical model for $20. Both models have two levels of light output – viz., low and high.

Try http://www.campmor.com as a reputable on-line source for one. I’ve added heavy duty, kitchen-type aluminum foil to 180 degrees of my Glorb so that light only comes out a 180 degree arc instead of 360 degrees. I just used some small bits of tape to afix it to the Glorb. It’s easy to remove the foil for complete are lighting. We only use it for power outages at home.

Dale Wambaugh
    BPL Member

@dwambaugh

Locale: Pacific Northwest