Topic

Quilt Ideas

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Quilt Ideas

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    joseph peterson

@sparky

Locale: Southern California

I would like to build a blanket, and I am tossing around many different ideas.

I have zero sewing experience, but never afraid to try anything new.

I would like to build a down quilt or a down/synthetic hybrid quilt.

There are a couple reasons behind the hybrid idea. I am a little intimidated by baffles for my first attempt at a quilt, and would like to build a sewn-through quilt. A hybrid quilt could cut down on cold spots, be cheaper, easier to build, and be plenty light.

Can anyone point me toward a discussion on this? The search function on this website leave some to be desired.

One design I am kicking around uses 3 yards of 1.1 oz ripstop per layer, using 3 total layers. Bottom chamber is filled with 3 yards of 2.5oz/yd of climashield xp, and the top is filled with either 9 oz of 800 fill, or 12 oz of 750 fill sewn through.

Shell would weigh 10 oz and cost around 40$

climashield would weigh 7.5 oz and cost 30$

800 down 9 oz 75$
    750 down 12 oz 64$

hybrid w/800 down and 2.5oz climashield would weigh a total of 27oz before thread and cost around 150$.

hybrid w/750 fill and 2.5oz climashield would be overstuffed a couple ozs and be warmer. total weight would be 30oz and cost 140$.

Both quilts should have a finished loft of 2.6".

I would like this bag to keep me warm in the sierra in the summer.

Does anyone have any comments on this idea? Is it dumb? Could I go with a lighter/thinner synthetic layer?