Topic

Efficiency with water tablets

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Efficiency with water tablets

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Nate Davis
    BPL Member

@knaight

Locale: Western Massachusetts

I used some Micropur tabs for the first time the other day on a 35 mile hike and have to admit, I found the whole process pretty inefficient, even moreso than using a filter. The weight savings is awesome, but when I'm trying to make a certain number of miles in a set period of time, they seem inconvenient.

People on this site love them, so what am I doing wrong?

The main problem is that I'm using platypus bottles, which I've never tried to fill without a filter before. I can't believe how difficult they are to fill by dunking them underwater, even when I've got 8-10 inches of depth to work with. Gatorade bottles would work better, but I'd like to continue using a water bladder for my speed hikes. Any tips here?

The tablets have to be kept in their individual wrappers because they're activated by light, right? Is there any way around this? Having to cut open and dispose of a wrapper for each individual wrapper seems pretty inefficient. I know this is a minor gripe, but all of this time adds up.

The only reason I'm asking about this is because I'm sure some of you have this down to a science. I'd love any and all tips!

Greg Mihalik
    Spectator

@greg23

Locale: Colorado

When I used Plattys I took one that I had cut in half to use as a scoop. I also had an "open cap" with 3 layers of mosquito mesh to serve as a "debris" getter.

Now I use a solid 32 ounce bottle, which really speeds things up. I still carry the half-platty in case I encounter a shallow stream. I pull and "holster" my bottle without any effort or contortions while hiking.