Topic

New to Forums: Gear List

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists New to Forums: Gear List

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    David McBride

@vintagegent

Locale: Galveston TX

I've been backpacking for about seven years now, and having gotten into it in my middle years, I started out with an emphasis on relatively lightweight equipment. This is my gear as it currently stands, for a 2-3 night trip where I might expect to encounter some wet and/or blustery weather. If I'm on an overnight where the conditions are projected to be clear, I can shave off around a pound and a half.

Most of my backpacking is either in the south during the fall, winter and early spring, or elsewhere during the summer. I never encounter temperatures more than a few degrees below freezing.

(All weights are in ounces.)

Tarptent Squall: 30.8
    Golite Gust: 21.2
    Silnylon pack cover: 3.1
    Mountainsmith Wisp bag (32F): 22.4
    Thermarest Prolite 4: 13.4
    Sit pad (closed cell foam square): 2.0

Katadyn Hiker Pro Filter: 13.5
    Water bottles: 2.0
    Walmart Grease Pot: 4.3
    MSR pot holder: 1.1
    MSR Pocket Rocket: 3.0
    Fuel: 4.0
    Ursack: 5.5
    Ti spork: 0.6
    Knife (Gerber): 1.4
    Pack Towel: 1.6

Ditty bag*: 3.0
    1st aid: 1.6
    Soap: 1.4
    Toilet paper: 0.6
    Toothbrush and paste: 1.2

Montbell Down Jacket: 8.0
    Under Armour SS shirt: 4.6
    SmartWool socks: 2.8
    Fleece gloves: 2.9
    Fleece pants: 7.0
    Extra underwear: 2.0
    Wool cap: 2.4
    Montane wind shirt: 3.1
    Frog Toggs: 17
    Bandana: 0.9
    Stuff sack for clothes: 0.8

Total: 189.2 = 11lb, 13.2oz

* contains headlamp, sewing kit, coffee filters as prefilters for water, tweezers, compass