Topic

Need help planning a Backpacking trip in New England!

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Hiking Partners / Group Trips Need help planning a Backpacking trip in New England!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Konrad .
    BPL Member

@konrad1013

Hey guys, thanks for reading my post. So, im fairly new to Boston, and New England in general, and have spent the past year and half doing day hikes and carcamps. I'm hoping to plan a backpacking trip in the next couple of weeks, so that my girlfriend can get some exposure to what a real overnight backpack trip feels like. She's been on a few car camps with me, and so far so good.

My goal is to have a trip where we get to hike 5-8 of miles on the first day, to a somewhat remote camp site (no cars/RV's etc), set up camp and hang out, and spend the night. The next morning, maybe summit a small mountain, or something memorable, and then head back to the campsite we came from, and either spend a 2nd night, or just pack up and head home. The problem is I have no idea where to start, or where something like this is available in the new england area.

Most of my substantial trips are still done out West in CA. I guess im hoping to mirror something like a yosemite/half dome hike, where one starts at happy isles and proceeds to mist/vernal/nevada falls trail on day one, and spends the night in the the somewhat secluded Little Yosemite Valley campground. And then the next morning, a climb of half dome, and then back to little yosemite valley, or the valley floor

Anything similar to that out east? Would love to hear anything!

Brian UL

@maynard76

Locale: New England

I recommend a hike to 13 falls campsite via Lincolnwoods tr.
    day 2, summit Bond cliff and head back.
    edit; realized thats a bit much
    You could go to Galehead hut or Mt Garfield fron 13 Falls.