Topic

Rethinking my gear

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Rethinking my gear

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    Ben Satterfield

@satterfield-bengmail-com

Locale: Virginia

First off, great community on this forum. I have been reading and soaking up tons of info for about six months.

Anyway, I have been using the same gear for the last 15 years. Some of it starting to show its age a bit and needs replacing. 95% of my hiking will occur in Virginia's part of the AT.

Backpack – Lowe Alpine Netherworld, considering Deuter Aircontact Lite 65 with Raincover

Sleeping bag – TNF Cat's Meow, considering Mountain Hardware Ultralamina +32 Reg

Sleeping Pad – Therm-A-Rest Guidelite

Bivy Sack – TNF Flight Bivy, was using a tent from Walrus called the Rapeede IV

Rain Jacket – Lowe Alpine (not sure of the model), considering Marmot Precip Rain

Stove – MSR Whisperlite and 20oz fuel bottle

Cookware – An old MSR cookset, considering REI Ti Ware Titanium Pop 0.9 Liter

Cup – Old metal cup from BSA, considering MSR Titan Mug

Utensils – Old BSA Knife, Fork, Spoon, considering Sea to Summit Alpha Light Spork

Headlamp – Petzl that used the big square battery, considering Petzl Tactikka Plus

Hiking Poles – MSR, not sure of the model

The stuff I bought in the 90's works great, heavy, but great. I'm not getting any younger so I would love to shave my pack weight from 50 lbs. down to 30 lbs. (Clothes, Food, other stuff make that weight)

As I get closer to my April trip I'll try to weigh out everything and list it more thoroughly for you guys.

Thanks for any input,
    Ben

Chris Gray
    Spectator

@chrisfol

Locale: Denver, Coloado

– You can lose 3lbs+ just by changing your current 6lb pack to something that is sub 3lb.