Topic

Tell me about Backpacks

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Philosophy & Technique Tell me about Backpacks

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Jordan Hurder

@jordanhurder

Locale: Southern California

So I’m new to UL (and new to Backpacking)… my philosophy so far is to slowly integrate UL techniques into standard backpacking so I can build up a base knowledge first. With that in mind, I searched forever for a pack that could carry 30 lbs of gear comfortably, and I wasn’t happy with any of the UL packs I tried (Gregory G-Pack, Granite Gear Vapor, a Go-Lite pack I don’t remember, and some others). Eventually, I decided to go up the weight ladder and bought a Gregory Keeler, weighing in at over 6 pounds. The bottom line, for me, is that 36 pounds (pack plus 30 lbs of gear) is way more comfortable to haul in the Gregory than 32 pounds in the UL packs I tried. So, I’m curious… has anyone else experienced this?…was I trying the wrong packs?…is it a sensible combo of standard and UL backpacking philosophies to buy a heavy, supremely comfortable pack and fill it with really light gear for comfortable loads? I’m curious what advice dedicated ultralighters have on this issue.

Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi Justin,