Topic

safe working load – rope question

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Mountaineering & Alpinism safe working load – rope question

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 44 total)
  • Author
    MARK D

@bosrocker51

Locale: Boston, MA

I am totally new to mountaineering, despite years of ski patrolling, etc.. I'm looking for some guidance on safe working load limits on rope.

Regarding safe working load (SWL) I've seen different numbers used, like 10% of a rope rated at 5000 lbs is correct, or is it 20%, or is it 1/15th (about 7% – this is confusing. Any guidance is welcome. Obviously, the less strain you put on a rope the better, but how far can you push it, and what is a good standard to apply?

My main interest in this subject is to not die while rappelling and getting info for safe rappelling from a chairlift or short cliff. thanks.

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

The answer is: it depends.

Part of it depends on the type of rope and its intended use. For example, there are dynamic ropes that stretch and are used for lead climbing. There are static ropes that do not stretch very much and are often used for rappelling. There are kernmantle ropes and laid (twisted) ropes. Some ropes are intended to protect a leader fall for only some small number of tries, and then it should be retired. Some are good for only a few years after manufacture.

Often, when you buy a new rope, it will have a tag on it that spells out some or all of its specs.
    –B.G.–

nanook ofthenorth
    BPL Member

@nanookofthenorth

from what you posted I'm a little confused – what are you doing with it?
    Chairlift evac is different then glacier travel – you use the rope differently. Could you elaborate?
    btw safe working load is a measure of the ropes strength in a static situation – a dynamic rope in a fall is quite diffrent