Topic

Lightweight camera bag

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Photography Lightweight camera bag

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Jeff Wagner

@jeffw

I first posted this in make your own gear, but I though I might get more talk here.

I'm a photographer who likes to take my SLR camera out backpacking. I weighed my camera and lens bags recently, and realized that they weigh about half as much as the gear does! (These are Lowepro soft cases; not very protective.)

So, I got to thinking. For a lens case, I cleaned out a peanut butter jar and lined it with open cell foam. It weighs half as much as the old case, is nearly waterproof, and is much more protective.

Now, I'm looking for a large screw-top container to fit my whole camera in (preferrably with lens attatched). These are hard to find in the right proportions. I'm looking for suggestions on sources for such containers. I need one that's about 8 inches deep, with a lid at least 6.5 inches in diameter. Commercially available containers are nice, but too heavy. I'm looking for the cheap, more flimsy containers like a plastic jar. Any ideas? Think bear canister, but not so beefy.

Anybody else have similar carrying solutions? I'm not looking for a way to carry it while hiking, just a protective case.

Greg Mihalik
    Spectator

@greg23

Locale: Colorado

In the Kitchen Department – wide-mouth, screw-top containers for flour, sugar, etc?

Other than that, just cruise the places you usually don't go – bulk food, housewares, storage, crafts, etc.

Good Luck. And please post when you find it.

Dale Wambaugh
    BPL Member

@dwambaugh

Locale: Pacific Northwest