Topic

Pitching My Tarp Experiment :-)

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Pitching My Tarp Experiment :-)

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    John Donewar
    BPL Member

@newton

Locale: Southeastern Texas

I've been bitten by the MYOG and SUL bugs. Deet will not get rid of them. Relief only comes in the form of sewing another piece of SUL gear. :-)

I read Jay Ham's article and have sewn a SUL stuff sack, pack and experimental tarp. Experimental because I've never done it before and I used $1.50 per yard Wal-Mart DAC (digital army camo) nylon for the material.

So here's the rub! It appears that I can sew well enough but can someone tell me how to go about pitching one of these things quickly and easily? I nearly worked up a sweat in 49 degree weather. :-(

Help me out, please! Tell what I did right, wrong and most of all how to put the thing up! :-)

As they say a picture is worth a thousand words. Here's 4K of them so everyone who would like to help me figure out how to pitch this thing before I "pitch it" :-) can see what it is I am working with.

Front view of SUL tarp experiment

When I make the tarp that I plan to use on a section hike of the AT this summer I will be using 1.1 oz silnylon. I have no idea what the Wal-Mart nylon was coated with. I thought it was PU but it felt a lot heavier so I think it was PVC.

Rear view of SUL tarp experiment, left side

I didn't use a catenary curve on the ridgeline for this experiment. I just learned how to use the spreadsheet two days ago. :-) The tarp was sewn two weeks ago.

Right side view of SUL tarp experiment

I will be using a cat curve on my final rendition of this tarp. I hope it will help me get rid of the ripples in the pitch.

Front view of underside of SUL tarp experiment