Topic

What material for bathtub tent floor

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear What material for bathtub tent floor

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    MICHAEL FREEMAN

@m_freeman

I am wanting to make my own ultralight waterproof tent. I like tents with a bathtub floor, what material should I use for the floor? and what is the best thread? total newbie to this but looks like fun

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

The few possibilities are Tyvek, Nylon, or polyethylene plastic.

Tyvek is fairly waterproof, fairly cheap, and wears OK. Nylon has lots of varieties, but if you have a fully-coated nylon like Sil-nylon, that works. It costs more, but it wears better, and probably weighs slightly more. Plastic comes in all sorts of thicknesses. It is cheap, extremely waterproof, but is easily punctured. Depending on the thickness, it may or may not be the lightest.

The nylon fabrics are probably best if you are going to turn up the edges and corners and sew it. Tyvek can be sewn, but plastic will tear.

For one heavy-duty purpose, I made my bathtub floor out of coated nylon. It's heavy. For a quick/disposable purpose, I made one out of 0.7 mil plastic, but I expect it to last no more than a week or so. Previously, I had made one out of 1 mil plastic, and it lasted much better.

–B.G.–

Dan @ Durston Gear
    BPL Member

@dandydan

Locale: Canadian Rockies

I would use 1.1oz silnylon which actually weighs about 1.4oz/yrd.

jeremy duncan

@jeremyduncan

Locale: Midwest

here a link to some tips for sewing silnylon (I hear it can be pretty difficult to work with)

http://www.specialtyoutdoors.com/tips/silnylon.asp

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2